Illegal drugs

In Canada, illegal drugs are contributing to an increasing number of harms: overdoses from fentanyl and related substances, traffic collisions caused by drug-impaired driving, and gun violence associated with the illegal drug market, among others. The Government of Canada works to decrease both the supply of and demand for illegal substances, reduce harms when they are used, and prevent problematic use. The Government of Canada has been addressing substance use as a health issue first and foremost, while balancing public safety priorities.

Public Safety Canada supports efforts to address the import, production and distribution of illegal drugs through policy development, information sharing and coordination. The department works with many partners on issues related to illegal drugs in Canada:

Drug Stigma Awareness Training Module

The Drug Stigma Awareness Training Module for law enforcement is offered free of charge to Canadian law enforcement personnel until 2022 and for a modest fee thereafter.

This course provides tools and reference material to support police interactions with people who use substances. It supports more effective policing by helping to reduce the stigma faced by people who use drugs that may prevent them from accessing the health and social services they need.

The training module was developed in partnership with the Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction and the Canadian Police Knowledge Network.

Drug-Impaired Driving

Drugs, including cannabis, can impair driving abilities and increase the risk of getting into a car accident. In fact, impaired driving is the leading cause of criminal deaths and injuries in Canada. Police-reported data indicate that the proportion of drug-impaired driving incidents has increased from 2% of all impaired driving cases to over 8% in 2020 while, at the same time, the proportion of alcohol-impaired driving incidents was declining. You have options; plan ahead and make a plan to get home.

Don't Drive High

Canadian Drugs and Substances Strategy (CDSS)

The Canadian Drugs and Substances Strategy (CDSS) is Canada's policy on controlled substances. It takes an evidence-based approach and is led by Health Canada. It's founded on the pillars of harm reduction, prevention, treatment, and enforcement.

Public Safety Canada supports the enforcement pillar of the CDSS, in addition to measures to reduce the harms associated with substance use. Legislative changes that came into force in 2017 have increased law enforcement's ability to take early action against suspected illegal drug production and trafficking operations.

The Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA)

As of 2017, devices that can be used to manufacture illegal drugs, such as pill presses and pill encapsulators, must be registered with Health Canada to be imported into Canada. This makes it harder for organized criminals to obtain devices to mass-produce counterfeit pills that often include fentanyl.

The Customs Act

Additionally, Canada's border officers can open international mail of any weight, should they have reasonable grounds to suspect the item may contain prohibited, controlled or regulated goods. This helps border officers stop highly potent fentanyl and its analogues from entering Canada, even in small quantities via letter mail.

The Good Samaritan Drug Overdose Act

The Good Samaritan Drug Overdose Act encourages people who witness or experience an overdose to call for emergency help, by providing some legal protection against charges for simple possession of a controlled substance and breaching conditions of:

Anyone who is at the scene when help arrives is also protected.

Law Enforcement Roundtable on Drugs

Public Safety Canada hosts a series of roundtables for the law enforcement community to discuss emerging drug threats, share information and explore potential solutions to the opioid overdose crisis and other challenges.

These events consider emerging drug issues from a law enforcement perspective. They also provide a forum to share best practices and identify actions that could support initiatives to address the illegal supply of drugs. They bring together:

Previous meeting summary reports:

National Crime Prevention Strategy (NCPS)

The National Crime Prevention Strategy (NCPS) provides funding for community-based crime prevention projects. In addition, practical knowledge development and information sharing helps Canadian communities target those most at risk:

The NCPS targets specific priority crime issues such as drug-related crime, youth gangs, and gun violence.

International Cooperation

Public Safety Canada works with international partners to address illegal drug production and trafficking in drugs and precursor chemicals.

International Resources

Date modified:

Drogues illégales

Au Canada, les drogues illégales contribuent à la hausse de méfaits : surdoses causées par le fentanyl et d'autres opioïdes, collisions d'automobile causées par la conduite avec facultés affaiblies, ou violences commises avec une arme à feu liée au trafic de drogues, entre autres. Le gouvernement du Canada travaille pour diminuer l'offre et la demande de substances illégales, réduire les méfaits découlant de leur consommation, et prévenir la consommation problèmatique. Pour le gouvernement du Canada, la consommation de drogue est d'abord et avant tout une question de santé, tout en reconnaissant ses effets sur la sécurité du public.

Sécurité publique Canada travaille avec plusieurs partenaires sur les enjeux des drogues illégales au Canada :

Module de sensibilisation : la stigmatisation des drogues

Une formation sur la stigmatisation liée à la consommation des drogues est offerte gratuitement à tout le personnel des organismes canadiens d'application de la loi. Après 2022, un coût modeste sera demandé.

Cette formation donne aux participants des outils et des documents de référence pour les aider lorsqu'ils interagissent avec des personnes qui consomment des substances. La formation appuie un meilleur maintien de l'ordre en aidant à réduire la stigmatisation qui pourrait empêcher les consommateurs de substances à obtenir les services sociaux ou les soins de santé dont ils ont besoin.

Cette formation a été créée en partenariat avec le Centre canadien sur les dépendances et l'usage de substances et le Réseau canadien du savoir policier.

Conduire sous l'effet de la drogue

Les drogues, notamment le cannabis, peuvent avoir un effet négatif sur la conduite et augmenter le risque d'accident. En effet, la conduite avec facultés affaiblies est la principale cause criminelle de décès et de blessures au Canada. Selon des données policières sur la conduite avec facultés affaiblies, les cas de conduite sous l'effet de la drogue ont augmenté de 2 % en 2009 à 8 % en 2020 tandis que le nombre de cas de conduite sous l'effet de l'alcool a diminué. Vous avez toujours le choix; prévoyez des alternatives.

Ne conduis pas gelé.

Stratégie canadienne sur les drogues et autres substances

Menée par Santé Canada, la Stratégie canadienne sur les drogues et autres substances est une approche fondée sur les preuves. La Stratégie est fondée sur quatre piliers : la réduction des méfaits, la prévention, le traitement et l'application de la loi.

Sécurité publique appuie la mise en œuvre du pilier de l'application de la loi de la Stratégie et met en place des mesures pour diminuer les méfaits associés à la consommation de substances. Des amendements législatifs (entrés en vigueur en 2017) ont renforcé la capacité des services policiers de passer à l'action plus rapidement contre la production et le trafic de drogues.

Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances

Depuis 2017, les appareils qui peuvent être utilisés pour fabriquer des drogues (presse à comprimés ou les machines d'encapsulation) doivent être enregistrés auprès de Santé Canada avant d'être importés au Canada. Par conséquent, il est plus difficile pour les criminels d'obtenir ces appareils pour produire des comprimés contrefaits en masse qui contiennent souvent du fentanyl.

Loi sur les douanes

De plus, les agents frontaliers du Canada peuvent ouvrir tout courrier, peu importe la taille, s'ils ont des motifs raisonnables de croire que le colis contient des biens interdits, contrôlés ou réglementés. Ainsi, les agents peuvent arrêter l'entrée de fentanyl et d'autres produits semblables, même en petite quantité dans une enveloppe.

Loi sur les bons samaritains secourant les victimes de surdose

Cette Loi sur les bons samaritains secourant les victimes de surdose encourage les témoins ou les victimes d'une surdose d'appeler à l'aide d'urgence en protégeant l'appelant de poursuite pour possession simple de substances contrôlées ou pour avoir violer les conditions de :

La Loi protège également quiconque demeure sur les lieux lorsque l'aide arrive.

Table ronde des organismes d'application de la loi sur les drogues

Sécurité publique Canada organise une série de tables rondes pour la communauté de l'application de la loi pour discuter des menaces émergentes, échanger de l'information et explorer différentes solutions à la crise des surdoses d'opioïdes et d'autres enjeux.

Ces activités examinent les questions émergentes liées aux drogues du point de vue de l'application de la loi. C'est aussi un forum pour discuter des pratiques exemplaires et déterminer les mesures qui aideraient à éliminer l'offre illégale des drogues. Les tables rondes rassemblent des :

Résumé des rencontres du passé :

Stratégie nationale pour la prévention du crime

La Stratégie nationale pour la prévention du crime verse des fonds pour des projets communautaires de prévention du crime. Ce programme, qui vise à développer le savoir et à échanger des données, aide les communautés canadiennes les plus à risques :

La Stratégie met l'accent sur des problèmes criminels particuliers, dont les crimes liés aux drogues, les gangs et la violence liée aux armes à feu.

Collaboration internationale

Sécurité publique Canada collabore avec des partenaires internationaux pour lutter contre la production et le trafic de drogues illégales et ses produits chimiques précurseurs.

Ressources

Date de modification :